Sunday, September 25, 2016

Our Grand Adventure To Passion In Portland / Raffle Drawing

Friday, September 9th to Sunday, September 11th

Deserts
At the Meet and Greet
This Passion in Portland was a three-day event consisting of the Meet and Greet on Friday night where we all enjoyed some really yummy rich deserts, that my daughter, Kara, raised her eyebrows at when I brought us a plate to share, I am supposed to watch my sugar intake, hehehe. There was also karaoke, that I myself will never do, it was a lot of fun watch others getting into it. I myself enjoyed some great conversations with Heather Carver and R. J. Van Cleave.

Roslyn McFarland and Tess Thompson
The Book Signing took place on Saturday, where Kara kept vanishing on me and always turning up with a new book, she enjoyed telling people that she was my driver but the loved the benefits of this event. The first table I just had to hit was Brandy L. Rivers table, I REALLY wanted the first box set of Others of Edenton which I got along with the first box set of the spin off Other of Seattle. I also needed to find a few books to donate, to the book basket, for the auction for the senior grad night party in June. Thank so much to you authors, Roslyn McFarland, Tess Thompson and Kristen Kehoe, who charged me half price and donated to the cause, it was truly
Sierra Hill and my myself
appreciated by me and the person in charge of handling this fundraiser.

The Blogger’s Brunch took place on Sunday and Kara and I were joined by Erika who was coming home on leave, making it hard for me to decide which one I was excited about, Erika being home or the Blogger’s Brunch. I was really looking forward to this part of Passion in Portland because I had recently just learned that some Authors didn’t like how bloggers (me included) were writing up blurbs to add to our reviews. Some of those blurbs just give too much
away and I get it, I really do. Not sure what exactly I will do about that in the format of my reviews but I want these wonderful Authors to want to read my reviews about their books to I am willing to work with that. For the Authors part the listened to us about what we need from them to help promote their books when they come to us directly when they seek us out.
Me and R. J. Van Cleave

This year’s Passion in Portland was so amazing, Kara and I had a such a great time meeting the authors that recognized us from last year and the new authors that we hope to meet again next year.


Kara and R. J. Van Cleave















Myself and Susan Hatler
Virna dePaul and me























Suana Hatler, Kara, Virna dePaul






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

The Wallflower Weddings Series by Vivienne Lorret and giveaway



Enter to Win a Wallflower Weddings Tote Bag Prize Pack



TEMPTING MR. WEATHERSTONE
Wallflower Weddings #0.5
Vivienne Lorret


Penelope Rutledge longs for passion, but only with the man of her dreams: the brilliant, dashing Ethan Weatherstone. If only her longtime neighbor would open his eyes and realize how much she loves him. If only they weren’t best friends with so much at stake. Penelope knows her future - and their friendship - is in her hands, but is she willing to take the biggest risk of all on the man she loves?

If it were up to Ethan, life and love would be as predictable as the figures in his ledgers - certainly nothing like the adventures Penelope longs for. Yet his childhood friend has grown into a beautiful, feisty woman blissfully unaware of the danger she causes when near. Ethan knows he must save Penelope-and her reputation...but can he save himself from the temptation of her lips?










DARING MISS DANVERS
Wallflower Weddings #1
Vivienne Lorret


It’s all fun and games...until someone falls in love.

Oliver Goswick, Viscount Rathburn, needs money and soon. With time ticking away and his inheritance held hostage until he’s properly wed, Rathburn’s slim options point to just one solution: a mock courtship. In need of the perfect bride, he knows of only one candidate: his best friend’s wallflower sister. The plan seems flawless; except for just one thing...he can’t help falling in love with her.

Poised, polished Emma Danvers knows nothing good can come of Rathburn’s scheme. Spending the next two months engaged in a mock courtship is not what she’d imagined for her final season. Yet, charmed by his roguish ways and the inexplicable hammering he causes in her heart, she accepts his challenge.

For Emma, keeping the secret seems easy when it was just a game... but as Rathburn begins to see past her reserved exterior to the passionate woman within, the risk of losing her heart becomes all too real.





WINNING MISS WAKEFIELD
Wallflower Weddings #2
Vivienne Lorret


She’s got nothing left to lose…

With her fiancĂ© suddenly engaged to another and her reputation in tatters, Merribeth Wakefield needs a bold plan to reclaim her life. She must be brave. Confident. She must… kiss a rake? The suggestion is ludicrous! Yet, when Merribeth finds herself alone with the dark and brooding Lord Knightswold, suddenly the plan doesn’t seem so farfetched. So she does something she never thought she’d do—she kisses him.

But he has everything to gain…

The Marquess of Knightswold—Bane to most—has no use for the affections of women. Well, none lasting longer than a single night. A plot for revenge weighs heavy on his mind, leaving no room for romance. So, when a shy, witty miss borrows a kiss from him in a darkened room, everything he thought he knew about innocent debutants vanishes along with her.

Yet when a twist of fate brings Merribeth within Bane’s grasp, he’ll have to resist her charms—or risk losing everything—for the sake of his heart.






FINDING MISS MCFARLAND
Wallflower Weddings #3
Vivienne Lorret


Fans of historical romance authors Lorraine Heath and Sophie Jordan will adore Vivienne Lorret's latest Wallflower Wedding novel.

Delaney McFarland is on the hunt for a husband—preferably one who needs her embarrassingly large dowry more than a dutiful wife. After the unspeakable incident at her debut, Delaney knows marrying for love is off the table, but a marriage of convenience—one that leaves her free to live the life she chooses—is the next best thing, never mind what that arrogant, devilishly handsome Mr. Croft thinks. Delaney plans to marry for money … or not at all.

Ever since the fiery redhead burst into his life—in a most memorable way—Griffin Croft hasn't been able to get Miss McFarland out of his mind. Now, with the maddening woman determined to hand over her fortune to a rake, Griffin knows he must step in. He must help her. He must not kiss her. But when Griffin's noble intentions flee in a moment of unexpected passion, his true course becomes clear: tame Delaney's wild heart and save her from a fate worse than death … a life without love..

    Amazon | B
& N
 | Google | iTunes | Kobo




USA Today bestselling author, VIVIENNE LORRET loves romance novels, her
pink laptop, her husband, and her two sons (not necessarily in that order … but
there are days). Transforming copious amounts of tea into words, she is an Avon
Impulse author of works including: Tempting Mr. Weatherstone, The Wallflower
Wedding Series, The Rakes of Fallow Hall Series, The Duke’s Christmas Wish, and
the Season’s Original Series.


Q & A with Vivienne Lorret

Q: Vivienne, where had you gotten the idea for the Wallflower Weddings Series?

Strangely enough, the Wallflower Wedding Series began as an afterthought. I wrote a Christmas novella (Tempting Mr. Weatherstone) and submitted it to an Avon “call for submissions.”

When the novella was well received, my editor at the time suggested that I create a spin-off. I was so excited about the opportunity! Since Ethan and Penelope’s story lacked unmarried sub characters, however, I had my work cut out for me.
But then inspiration struck! I remembered that, in Tempting, Penelope enjoyed embroidery. So I gave her a circle of friends who shared that interest. Adding in a few details here and there… and voila, the Wallflower Wedding Series was born.
  
Q: Which title or couple was the easiest to write and which gave you the most trouble?

Hmm… This is a tough question. Each story had its share of smooth sailing, as well as bumpy roads. I practically held my breath the whole time while writing Emma and Oliver’s slow, burgeoning love. I was as eager for them to realize it as, I imagine, they were. I blushed when Merribeth “borrowed” that kiss from the deliciously naughty Bane. And I laughed (horrible of me, I know) during Delaney’s incident at her debut, all over Griffin’s shoes.

What gave me the most trouble for each book was reaching the end and knowing that I had to say goodbye. I suppose that’s why I proposed the Rakes of Fallow Hall Series, so that I could check up on them.

In fact, I’ll tell you a secret. I even added a mention of Bane in my upcoming novel, WHEN A MARQUESS LOVES A WOMAN.

Q: Which heroine do you feel most closely relates to your personality?

 Out of the Wallflowers, I’d have to say that I relate to Delaney McFarland. Sadly, we’re both socially awkward. In fact, the beginning of her story—the incident at her debut—is one of my own fears. Thankfully, I have never cast up my accounts in public (and knock on wood that it never happens), but there’s always that fear when facing a crowd.

I guess you could say that writers have secret ways of facing our fears by forcing our characters to live them out. It’s good for us, but not-so-good for our characters. On the bright side, I think Delaney handled the incident with a strength of character that even surprised me. 

Q: What is one of the most interesting things that you have learned from researching for your historicals?

 I just love research! Discovering little historical tidbits feeds my inner nerd. I can’t begin to tell you how tired my family is of hearing “Guess what I learned today?” So much eye rolling! 

But one thing, in particular, I found fascinating came from an 1800s play (the title of which I have presently forgotten). The main character went into a taproom and ordered his food and drink “hot and hot.” Instantly, I wondered what that meant. Did he want hot ale, too? Was this a popular figure of speech? Inquiring minds…
I searched online and found nothing. I went to the library database and found nothing. Then I asked my friend and local research librarian, but she didn’t know either. She came up with the same results that I had. However, she had a secret weapon that I didn’t have—connections. She knew a food historian.

This “hot and hot” became such a puzzle for all of us that, after compiling research, the food historian blogged about her findings. So cool!

In the end, she found that asking for your food and drink to come “hot and hot,” meant that you wanted everything when it was ready. No waiting. In other words, bring the ale now. And if the broth is done, then bring it to me, as well, while the kitchen prepares my leg o’ mutton, aspic and eggs. Um… yum?
Or, to put it in a modern context…  If you make pancakes in a skillet, one by one, then instead of waiting to compile a short stack for your family, you’d serve each steaming flapjack—butter melting, syrup oozing—one at a time, and fork at the ready.

So, the next time you’re at IHOP, pound your fist on the table hard enough to jangle the silverware, and tell the server that you want your rasher of bacon, scrambled eggs and each fluffy pancake “hot and hot”… because you’re worth it. ; )

Q: What is your favorite part of writing historical romances?

 All of it. I love the rules of society (and breaking them). I love the layers of clothing, and how even removing a glove can be racy. I love the fact that they didn’t have immediate knowledge of a potential scandal. There’s so much that can be done with slow-moving information. And on the flip-side, so much can happen when news or rumors spread like wildfire. It’s fun playing with the differences.
Also, as I mentioned before, I love the research and discovering new-to-me tidbits of history.  I often like to imagine how my current character would have reacted to the latest scientific invention, or how they felt about their changing world.

Q: What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on a proposal for a potential new series. At this time, I can’t go into detail, but I can tell you that I’m having a lot of fun with this new set of characters.

Also in the works, is a novella that will finish the Season’s Original Series and answer some important questions, such as:
·         Will the evil Miss Leeds and Miss Ashbury get what’s coming to them?
·         Will the Fates smile upon the overlooked but handsome Viscount Ellery?
·         Will Gemma Desmond escape ruination after her father’s misdeeds? 

Are you curious, too?

Thank you for having me here today!

I wake up each morning, incredibly thankful that I’ve had the opportunity to write these stories. But even more than that, I feel immensely blessed to have readers who have enjoyed them.

Warm wishes and happy reading!


Vivienne



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 29, 2016

Proof of Lies Thanks to the Police Report

After asking for the police reports and being stonewalled because it is an ‘ongoing case’ was aggravating to say the least. After a lot a frustration we now have those police reports, no thanks to DA’s office because they are too busy covering up their bumbling incompetence. It is clear that nobody bothered to really read these reports or they did and just don’t care about doing what is right…

The lies and the facts

DDA Alicia Eagan said she could get win 2nd Degree Manslaughter in court even if the defense had the lab results suppressed. But does she stick to her guns? Nope she takes what she thinks is the easy win for her at the expense of her victims.


Alicia Eagan said Jake’s Mom just wanted this done and was willing to settle with whatever Alicia decided (guess she figured we wouldn’t speak to each other).


Then during the settlement hearing the judge informed us that pot was found in the defendant’s hospital room but they couldn’t prove it’s his and that it had been removed from his room before the police saw it. But the funny thing about that is according to the police reports a nurse said they found 2 bags of pot on his person but when they went in to check and it was gone from the counter and when the defendant’s property bag was searched it was found there.


We were also told by the same judge that the blood draw was done without a warrant. But guess what 2 blood draws were done, the first one was an exigent draw and the 2nd was a warrant draw. Add in a UA and two baggies of pot weighing 8.7 grams and what do you get?


And where did the judge get his information? He got it from DDA Alicia Eagan, which means she is not just lying to her victims in this case but also to judges, is that even legal?

While I am on the subject of lies I have a message to the mother and girlfriend of the defendant… False apologies are not appreciated. If you were truly sorry and wanted to make things right you would have been honest and told the truth from the beginning. If the defendant were truly sorry he would be honest and own what he has done and taken the consequences for his actions when he first had the chance to at his first hearing. So don’t say your sorry when in truth you clearly don’t mean it.
All the math is there but the numbers aren’t adding up. The Colunms from what we are told and what is written don’t balance. I have yet to see the blood work and the re-enactment reports but I am betting those will show even more proof of guilt on the defendents part and more lies on the DA’s part.

On a positive note I am happy to say that my attorney informed me that a Yamhill County Judge will be presiding over the Plea Hearing on September 27th, we were waiting for confirmation after an email exchange I had with a reporter, who told me about it before sharing that tidbit.


Thursday, August 25, 2016

Passion in Portland is 2 Weeks Away

Hey Everyone,

With all the drama going on in my life I nearly forgot that Passion in Portland is getting closer and closer. My first reminder was today when I found a post I shared a few days ago on my facebook page about this years event that had a video of last years Passion in Portland. Then I called my daughter and we were discussing getting extra raffle tickets. And then finally I got an email from Heather Carver asking to think up some questions for the brunch on Sunday, that is when it finally hit me, I need to write about this and remind EVERYONE about this amazing chance to interact with some of the nicest authors I have ever met.

My daughter, Kara and her friend, Katie going through Katie's raffle winnings. 
This years Passion in Portland is a 3 day event that starts Firday, September 9th at 8:00 pm with a meet and greet. Book signing on Saturday, September 10 starting at 12:00 pm for all us crazy stalkers, who can't wait to get in and talk with our favorite authors and who can't wait for the general admition signing at 12:45. Finishing Sunday, Spetember 11 with the Bloggers Brunch at 10:00 am where we get even more time with our favorite authors and ask them questions, I am super excited about this part as I just recently learned what these wonderful authors would like to see in our reviews and I want to talk it over some more and take a few notes while I am at it.

I hope we see you there.

LINKS




Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Words From Jake's Mom, Nicole, This Is Her Memory Of The Day The Kids were Killed


Jake's Mother is just as angry and upset as I am and wants justice just as much. Where was Alicia Eagen when her victims were outside the hospital not being taken care of during this tragedy.



Saturday, August 20, 2016

The Unwanted Wife (Unwanted #1) by Natasha Anders


Heat Rating

Theresa knows her husband, Sandro, doesn’t really love her any more than her father. When she asks for a divorce only to have Sandro refuse she is confused, clearly he would be happier without her since he hates her so much. When she learns that her father practically sold her as a baby maker and that her husband accepted the deal her devastation is complete. Sandro reason though noble don’t take away her pain. When she discovers she is pregnant she also discovers a light at the end of the tunnel and plans for her divorce and making sure her father never gets his hands on her son. Sandro has other plans because he does in fact love his wife but he thought her to be part of her father’s master plan and resented her for his being forced to marry her. Now he knows the truth and every day he prays for a way to make things right with his Theresa, while screwing it up even more. His only hope is a daughter so she will have to stay in the marriage.

I will stand by my original review, it really easy to get into the characters, the world that Natasha Anders created is pretty detailed except for the bedroom scenes which were not too graphic but just enough to make them steamy. The emotionally charged scenes were well thought out and written in such a way that I could really connect and stick with the story. These days with all the ups and downs of our fight for justice that my family and myself have been going through we have each had to focus on that one thing that can allow us a brief respite from the nightmare we are living with; as mine is books and writing I want to thank Natasha for being such an author that can write a book that can keep the reader involved in the book and allowing that escape.Given the number of edits I found the five-star rating I had to give The Unwanted Wife will be reduced to a four-star rating.

Original Review
This is the third or fourth time I have read this book and every time I have read I have needed a box of tissues as I was almost always near crying if not actually crying. ALL the emotions that Theresa and Sandro were going through were so well described that you could almost touch them. Natasha Anders did an amazing job of writing this book and the only flaws I found in this book as I read it were editorial flaws that can be fixed with a few key strokes. Otherwise, it a wonderful and heartbreaking story of love, lies, a bad parent (who should be castrated) and disillusionment. This book can and will make you cry and it will also make you smile.

Book Cover Rating

Book Blurb Rating

Purchase Link for The Unwanted Wife

Book's Blurb
No one had ever looked at her and seen perfection—until now.
Delicate, titian-haired Theresa Noble has met her father’s associates in the past, but the gorgeous, Italian-born Sandro De Lucci leaves her speechless. Eighteen months into their marriage, however, Sandro has turned to ice. Desperate to escape a relationship that has proven to be as stubbornly passionate as it is cold and hateful, Theresa summons up the courage to ask for a divorce. But before he’ll grant her request, Sandro demands something from Theresa: a son.
The stalemate sickens her. Never mind that Sandro has yet to introduce Theresa to the large family that means so much to him. Or that Theresa overhears her husband on the phone with a mystery woman. Most damning is that Theresa senses, in Sandro’s treatment of her, the behind-the-scenes machinations of Jackson Noble, her cruel father. From the depths of her anxiety, Theresa must seek an empowering truth about the husband who calls her, with such cold affection, his cara, his beloved.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Todays Hearing in the State vs Kevin Milanez Gomez in the death of Petty Officer 3rd Class Shantel Fugere and Jacob Coshow Wright

The candle light vigil for Shanny and Jake at the Park
First I want to thank everyone who showed their support today, we all really appreciate it. I want to explain more about the horrible plea offer that the District Attorney’s Office accepted. This plea is the brain child of a Judge Bergstrom who is an out-of-county judge that the DDA and Defense Attorney Hanson brought in to do who knows what. Anyway, when Alicia Eagan called us with the details of this deal she only gave us bits and pieces and so my attorney (who has been at every hearing and doing his own investigation) asked for a written copy of the plea deal and was told ‘no’ so he asked again, only this time in front of the judge and was again told ‘no’ but also that it wasn’t the DA’s policy to share that but that she would meet with my attorney to give him the details, which are as follows:

Defendant to Plead to 2 Counts Criminally Negligent Homicide.

The prosecution and the defense have stipulated to a sentence of 37 months on one count and 38 months on the second count. Total 75 months. Less 20% good time.

No alternative prison programs which might lessen his sentence even more. This is the sole dim light in a very dark deal.

3 years of post-prison supervision.

Revocation of his driver’s license—which he never had in the first place.

There is nothing about his drug using and additionally he could be out early never serving the full
Jake
sentence, with all likelihood doing this again. The sentence is a fraction of the 150 months (with no credit for good time) he should have received for 2 Manslaughter II convictions.

Alicia Eagan said that she could not use the drug use or lab results in court because according to her the defense could have this evidence suppressed because according to the police reports and doctors reports there were no signs of intoxication. This is a lie; we have reports from 2 first responders that said yes, he did show signs of intoxication. To compound this lie she said that the blood collected was done without a warrant when in actuality no warrant was need for an exigent blood draw. Also, did you know it is a Federal Offense to harm Military personnel, Shantel was a Petty Officer 3rd Class in the US Navy (active duty home on leave) but was any of this even taken into account? Nope it wasn’t. And if she has lied to us and the judges, who else has she lied to or withheld pertinent information from about this case?

Given that the results of the blood draws have never been released, and the police reports have never been released, we feel that the District Attorney’s office has totally betrayed our trust. We believe that the information is being withheld because it would reflect badly on the DA’s office and for no legitimate reason. Not providing the victims with any meaningful input on pleas, evidence or negotiations is what passes for victim’s rights in Yamhill County. The Victim’s Advocate appears to have being a dog handler as her primary responsibility.

Shaanny at YC Track Meet
Months ago we went to District Attorney Brad Berry to request that Alicia Eagan be replaced. He refused to even consider a change. That led up to the current disaster. At the time Mr. Berry assured us that the matter would go to trial if the defense did not accept a plea to Manslaughter II. When confronted with Mr. Berry’s statements, Alicia Eagan’s explanation was that she was never privy to that conversation. Another deliberately misleading statement. She has also stated that Brad Berry approved of this deal.

Alicia Eagan and the Defense Attorney plan on having the settlement judge (Bergstrom) hear the plea but our Attorney objected to this on our behalf (the court rejected our objection) as we feel that as this ridiculous plea was his brain child he will not listen to all the many voices that are dead set against it. We want a judge that had no part in creating this plea agreement and will make an impartial decision based on both sides of the equation. We firmly believe Judge Bergstrom should remove himself from this matter.

We also hope that Alicia Eagan will wake up and realize what mockery she has made of the justice system. And to the officers she has thrown under the bus with HER incompetence and ignorance, thank you for trying.     


The next hear will be the Plea Hear on Tuesday, September 27th at 3:00 pm at at the Yamhill Court House NE 5th St in McMinnville. Please come and lend your voice to ours.

   

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Crimal Case in the Death of My Daughter, Shantel Fugere, and Her Friend, Jake Wright Coshow

Shanny just hours before she was killed
My beautiful youngest daughter, Shantel Fugere, was killed on July 8th 2015 in a car crash and here I sit 13 months and 8 days later wonder what the hell is wrong with our legal system when the DA’s offices calls me and tells me that after all the hemming and hawing, for over a year, they have decided to accept a plea deal for Criminally Negligent Homicide as a opposed the 2nd Degree Manslaughter that DA Brad Berry said his office would fight for and nothing less.

A Secret Indictment for2 counts 1st Degree Manslaughter was the original charge and then after Kevin Milanez Gomez arrest we had a meeting with ADA Alicia Eagan who informed us that she had to offer a plea deal and was talking probation with stipulation or jail time. We told her we wanted him in prison for killing our daughter and her friend. She informed us that technically it was her decision and that she really didn’t need to tell us about it. We were unhappy with this and asked to speak with DA Brad Berry where he explained that it was about what they could prove in a trial and he was sure at that time that 2nd Degree Manslaughter was what they could get in a trial and listened as we expressed our dissatisfaction with Alicia. We called MADD and they made a number of suggestions that we followed (I am so thankful for them) and I wrote a letter to DA Brad Berry.

A meeting was called and he informed us that Alicia would stay on the case and that his office would not accept anything less than 2nd Degree Manslaughter and that it would go to trial before his office accepted anything less.

Now the DA’s office is accepting a plea deal that will give Kevin Milanez Gomez less than 3 year per charge,
Shanny showing us how to salute 
with good behavior instead of the Measure 11 mandatory 75 months that he would get with 2nd Degree Man Slaughter.

Can someone please explain to me how it can be ok for a 17-year-old kid who was smoking pot and driving without a license, and driving recklessly at that, can get a slap on the wrist for killing 2 innocent people when he blew through a clearly marked stop sign during his reckless joy ride?

Let not forget the botched investigation that was done by the ADA Alicia Eagan, who claims she was at the scene of the car crash that stole the life of my daughter and her friend Jake, and the County Sheriff’s office. Why wasn’t there a body search done at the scene then they would have probably found the pot on Kevin rather than just sitting in his ER room where one of his family members could save him by saying it was theirs and not his. And the lack of a search warrant for the blood work that was given to the crime lab. Then of course they didn’t even evaluate him at the scene for intoxication so no MIP or DUII was issued and the rumor is that he admitted to one first responder that he had been smoking pot with his girlfriend who was also in the car and in my book just a guilty as he. We live in a small town and people talk and of course we learned a lot more about the botched investigation from the ‘Settlement Judge’ they called in hoping we would agree to his ideas, yeah right, not happening, unlike the DA’s office we will stick to our guns and stand by the 2nd Degree Manslaughter, for Kevin Milanez Gomez that is temporary and he can live with that unlike my daughter who doesn’t get to live her life at all because he took it.

“Well he could be remorseful for what he’s done” NOPE don’t believe that either because if he or his girlfriend were truly sorry they would have TOLD THE TRUTH about what was going on in their car when they crashed into the car my daughter and her friend, Jake, were in.

What happens to the world when the people we trust to tell us the truth, turn around and lie at the expense of what is right and just.


The next hearing is this Thursday, August 18th, 2016 at 8:30 am at the Yamhill Court House NE 5th St in McMinnville, Court room 206


In Loving Memory of Our Shantel