Thursday, August 25, 2016

Passion in Portland is 2 Weeks Away

Hey Everyone,

With all the drama going on in my life I nearly forgot that Passion in Portland is getting closer and closer. My first reminder was today when I found a post I shared a few days ago on my facebook page about this years event that had a video of last years Passion in Portland. Then I called my daughter and we were discussing getting extra raffle tickets. And then finally I got an email from Heather Carver asking to think up some questions for the brunch on Sunday, that when it finally hit me, I need to write about this and remind EVERYONE about this amazing chance to interact with some of the nicest authors I have ever met.

My daughter, Kara and her friend, Katie going through Katie's raffle winnings. 
This years Passion in Portland is a 3 day event that starts Firday, September 9th at 8:00 pm with a meet and greet. Book signing on Saturday, September 10 starting at 12:00 pm for all us crazy stalkers, who can't wait to get in and talk with our favorite authors and who can't wait for the general admition signing at 12:45. Finishing Sunday, Spetember 11 with the Bloggers Brunch at 10:00 am where we get even more time with our favorite authors and ask them questions, I am super excited about this part as I just recently learned what these wonderful authors would like to see in our reviews and I want to talk it over some more and take a few notes while I am at it.

I hope we see you there.

LINKS




Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Words From Jake's Mom, Nicole, This Is Her Memory Of The Day The Kids were Killed


Jake's Mother is just as angry and upset as I am and wants justice just as much. Where was Alicia Eagen when her victims were outside the hospital not being taken care of during this tragedy.



Saturday, August 20, 2016

The Unwanted Wife (Unwanted #1) by Natasha Anders


Heat Rating

Theresa knows her husband, Sandro, doesn’t really love her any more than her father. When she asks for a divorce only to have Sandro refuse she is confused, clearly he would be happier without her since he hates her so much. When she learns that her father practically sold her as a baby maker and that her husband accepted the deal her devastation is complete. Sandro reason though noble don’t take away her pain. When she discovers she is pregnant she also discovers a light at the end of the tunnel and plans for her divorce and making sure her father never gets his hands on her son. Sandro has other plans because he does in fact love his wife but he thought her to be part of her father’s master plan and resented her for his being forced to marry her. Now he knows the truth and every day he prays for a way to make things right with his Theresa, while screwing it up even more. His only hope is a daughter so she will have to stay in the marriage.

I will stand by my original review, it really easy to get into the characters, the world that Natasha Anders created is pretty detailed except for the bedroom scenes which were not too graphic but just enough to make them steamy. The emotionally charged scenes were well thought out and written in such a way that I could really connect and stick with the story. These days with all the ups and downs of our fight for justice that my family and myself have been going through we have each had to focus on that one thing that can allow us a brief respite from the nightmare we are living with; as mine is books and writing I want to thank Natasha for being such an author that can write a book that can keep the reader involved in the book and allowing that escape.Given the number of edits I found the five-star rating I had to give The Unwanted Wife will be reduced to a four-star rating.

Original Review
This is the third or fourth time I have read this book and every time I have read I have needed a box of tissues as I was almost always near crying if not actually crying. ALL the emotions that Theresa and Sandro were going through were so well described that you could almost touch them. Natasha Anders did an amazing job of writing this book and the only flaws I found in this book as I read it were editorial flaws that can be fixed with a few key strokes. Otherwise, it a wonderful and heartbreaking story of love, lies, a bad parent (who should be castrated) and disillusionment. This book can and will make you cry and it will also make you smile.

Book Cover Rating

Book Blurb Rating

Purchase Link for The Unwanted Wife

Book's Blurb
No one had ever looked at her and seen perfection—until now.
Delicate, titian-haired Theresa Noble has met her father’s associates in the past, but the gorgeous, Italian-born Sandro De Lucci leaves her speechless. Eighteen months into their marriage, however, Sandro has turned to ice. Desperate to escape a relationship that has proven to be as stubbornly passionate as it is cold and hateful, Theresa summons up the courage to ask for a divorce. But before he’ll grant her request, Sandro demands something from Theresa: a son.
The stalemate sickens her. Never mind that Sandro has yet to introduce Theresa to the large family that means so much to him. Or that Theresa overhears her husband on the phone with a mystery woman. Most damning is that Theresa senses, in Sandro’s treatment of her, the behind-the-scenes machinations of Jackson Noble, her cruel father. From the depths of her anxiety, Theresa must seek an empowering truth about the husband who calls her, with such cold affection, his cara, his beloved.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Todays Hearing in the State vs Kevin Milanez Gomez in the death of Petty Officer 3rd Class Shantel Fugere and Jacob Coshow Wright

The candle light vigil for Shanny and Jake at the Park
First I want to thank everyone who showed their support today, we all really appreciate it. I want to explain more about the horrible plea offer that the District Attorney’s Office accepted. This plea is the brain child of a Judge Bergstrom who is an out-of-county judge that the DDA and Defense Attorney Hanson brought in to do who knows what. Anyway, when Alicia Eagan called us with the details of this deal she only gave us bits and pieces and so my attorney (who has been at every hearing and doing his own investigation) asked for a written copy of the plea deal and was told ‘no’ so he asked again, only this time in front of the judge and was again told ‘no’ but also that it wasn’t the DA’s policy to share that but that she would meet with my attorney to give him the details, which are as follows:

Defendant to Plead to 2 Counts Criminally Negligent Homicide.

The prosecution and the defense have stipulated to a sentence of 37 months on one count and 38 months on the second count. Total 75 months. Less 20% good time.

No alternative prison programs which might lessen his sentence even more. This is the sole dim light in a very dark deal.

3 years of post-prison supervision.

Revocation of his driver’s license—which he never had in the first place.

There is nothing about his drug using and additionally he could be out early never serving the full
Jake
sentence, with all likelihood doing this again. The sentence is a fraction of the 150 months (with no credit for good time) he should have received for 2 Manslaughter II convictions.

Alicia Eagan said that she could not use the drug use or lab results in court because according to her the defense could have this evidence suppressed because according to the police reports and doctors reports there were no signs of intoxication. This is a lie; we have reports from 2 first responders that said yes, he did show signs of intoxication. To compound this lie she said that the blood collected was done without a warrant when in actuality no warrant was need for an exigent blood draw. Also, did you know it is a Federal Offense to harm Military personnel, Shantel was a Petty Officer 3rd Class in the US Navy (active duty home on leave) but was any of this even taken into account? Nope it wasn’t. And if she has lied to us and the judges, who else has she lied to or withheld pertinent information from about this case?

Given that the results of the blood draws have never been released, and the police reports have never been released, we feel that the District Attorney’s office has totally betrayed our trust. We believe that the information is being withheld because it would reflect badly on the DA’s office and for no legitimate reason. Not providing the victims with any meaningful input on pleas, evidence or negotiations is what passes for victim’s rights in Yamhill County. The Victim’s Advocate appears to have being a dog handler as her primary responsibility.

Shaanny at YC Track Meet
Months ago we went to District Attorney Brad Berry to request that Alicia Eagan be replaced. He refused to even consider a change. That led up to the current disaster. At the time Mr. Berry assured us that the matter would go to trial if the defense did not accept a plea to Manslaughter II. When confronted with Mr. Berry’s statements, Alicia Eagan’s explanation was that she was never privy to that conversation. Another deliberately misleading statement. She has also stated that Brad Berry approved of this deal.

Alicia Eagan and the Defense Attorney plan on having the settlement judge (Bergstrom) hear the plea but our Attorney objected to this on our behalf (the court rejected our objection) as we feel that as this ridiculous plea was his brain child he will not listen to all the many voices that are dead set against it. We want a judge that had no part in creating this plea agreement and will make an impartial decision based on both sides of the equation. We firmly believe Judge Bergstrom should remove himself from this matter.

We also hope that Alicia Eagan will wake up and realize what mockery she has made of the justice system. And to the officers she has thrown under the bus with HER incompetence and ignorance, thank you for trying.     


The next hear will be the Plea Hear on Tuesday, September 27th at 3:00 pm at at the Yamhill Court House NE 5th St in McMinnville. Please come and lend your voice to ours.

   

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Crimal Case in the Death of My Daughter, Shantel Fugere, and Her Friend, Jake Wright Coshow

Shanny just hours before she was killed
My beautiful youngest daughter, Shantel Fugere, was killed on July 8th 2015 in a car crash and here I sit 13 months and 8 days later wonder what the hell is wrong with our legal system when the DA’s offices calls me and tells me that after all the hemming and hawing, for over a year, they have decided to accept a plea deal for Criminally Negligent Homicide as a opposed the 2nd Degree Manslaughter that DA Brad Berry said his office would fight for and nothing less.

A Secret Indictment for2 counts 1st Degree Manslaughter was the original charge and then after Kevin Milanez Gomez arrest we had a meeting with ADA Alicia Eagan who informed us that she had to offer a plea deal and was talking probation with stipulation or jail time. We told her we wanted him in prison for killing our daughter and her friend. She informed us that technically it was her decision and that she really didn’t need to tell us about it. We were unhappy with this and asked to speak with DA Brad Berry where he explained that it was about what they could prove in a trial and he was sure at that time that 2nd Degree Manslaughter was what they could get in a trial and listened as we expressed our dissatisfaction with Alicia. We called MADD and they made a number of suggestions that we followed (I am so thankful for them) and I wrote a letter to DA Brad Berry.

A meeting was called and he informed us that Alicia would stay on the case and that his office would not accept anything less than 2nd Degree Manslaughter and that it would go to trial before his office accepted anything less.

Now the DA’s office is accepting a plea deal that will give Kevin Milanez Gomez less than 3 year per charge,
Shanny showing us how to salute 
with good behavior instead of the Measure 11 mandatory 75 months that he would get with 2nd Degree Man Slaughter.

Can someone please explain to me how it can be ok for a 17-year-old kid who was smoking pot and driving without a license, and driving recklessly at that, can get a slap on the wrist for killing 2 innocent people when he blew through a clearly marked stop sign during his reckless joy ride?

Let not forget the botched investigation that was done by the ADA Alicia Eagan, who claims she was at the scene of the car crash that stole the life of my daughter and her friend Jake, and the County Sheriff’s office. Why wasn’t there a body search done at the scene then they would have probably found the pot on Kevin rather than just sitting in his ER room where one of his family members could save him by saying it was theirs and not his. And the lack of a search warrant for the blood work that was given to the crime lab. Then of course they didn’t even evaluate him at the scene for intoxication so no MIP or DUII was issued and the rumor is that he admitted to one first responder that he had been smoking pot with his girlfriend who was also in the car and in my book just a guilty as he. We live in a small town and people talk and of course we learned a lot more about the botched investigation from the ‘Settlement Judge’ they called in hoping we would agree to his ideas, yeah right, not happening, unlike the DA’s office we will stick to our guns and stand by the 2nd Degree Manslaughter, for Kevin Milanez Gomez that is temporary and he can live with that unlike my daughter who doesn’t get to live her life at all because he took it.

“Well he could be remorseful for what he’s done” NOPE don’t believe that either because if he or his girlfriend were truly sorry they would have TOLD THE TRUTH about what was going on in their car when they crashed into the car my daughter and her friend, Jake, were in.

What happens to the world when the people we trust to tell us the truth, turn around and lie at the expense of what is right and just.


The next hearing is this Thursday, August 18th, 2016 at 8:30 am at the Yamhill Court House NE 5th St in McMinnville, Court room 206


In Loving Memory of Our Shantel

Sunday, August 7, 2016

Xander's Mate by Cassie Laurent


Heat Rating

Mia’s plans with her boyfriend backfire when he decides to spend the night out parting with another woman rather than with her. She leaves him and hits the road for home where she runs out of gas. Lucky or unlucky for her two hot guys on motor cycles show up to rescue her and take her to Xander who had his men tracking her down. Now she is his mate although for how long remains to be seen as there is a war going on and they could die tomorrow and having traitors in their ranks doesn’t help.

I think Xander’s Mate has a good beginning but as I delved further into the story I felt the book needed a new editor really bad. The was a very definite story line with a vague back story and sub-plot that the author didn’t successfully mesh into a cohesive story. There wasn’t really much to the book because Xander was mostly absent and Mia was alone. I think the only interesting event in the book besides the bed room scenes, that weren’t all that exciting, was when Mia thought she thought she found Xander’s above ground bedroom and it turned out to be the traitor’s bedroom. I was considering a three-star but leaning more towards a two-star review but with the edits one star is all I can give this story, that I probably will never read again.

Book Cover Rating

Book Blurb Rating
I wouldn’t exactly call the break up harrowing because that implies being in danger from the boyfriend when she most certainly was not.

Purchase Links

Book's Blurb
After a harrowing breakup with her cheating boyfriend, curvy Mia finds herself driving home in the rain, on the dark and twisting back roads of New England. Hungry and praying that her car doesn't run out of gas, she stops at an out-of-the-way diner hoping to a get a bit of food and then find the closest gas station.

After she eats and gets back out on the road, Mia realizes she never found a gas station and suddenly she's running on empty. When her car breaks down in the rain, two bikers come across her crying at the side of the road—but she recognizes the men: they had been staring her down at the diner. She's scared, but stranded in the middle of nowhere, and powerless when they make her get on the back of one of their bikes and take her wherever they desire.

She soon finds herself at a military encampment in the middle of the New Hampshire forest, but this is no ordinary encampment—it's populated by werewolves on the eve of a massive territorial war. When she's brought before Xander, the pack's leader, he declares her his mate and presents her to his soldiers as their queen. Xander is powerful, sexy, and a brilliant, courageous leader. There's no question that he makes Mia wet with desire, but after an act of war throws the camp into turmoil, she begins to realize that her fate is tied to Xander's—will she survive the trials that follow?

Friday, August 5, 2016

Harmony (The Club Girl Diaries #1) by Addison Jane



Heat Rating

Club Girl Rule Number One: Love the club

Harmony loves the Brothers by Blood MC and she loves being a club girl because she gets to party and have all the sex she wants with the added bonus of going to school. Yeah it’s not perfect but it is home and she doesn’t want to leave it because she trusts the Brothers to be what they are and even if they are just using her body for sex they still respect her and she doesn’t have to deal with trusting one man with her heart after all they will eventually leave so yeah this is her perfect set up. That is until Kit shows up and changes the rules by making her his old lady. The slave trafficker that has set his sights on getting isn’t helping her with her trust issues either.

I have read a few MC books but I think that this one is probably going to be one of my favorites. Harmony is told from the perspective of both Harmony and Kit as they both struggle with her insecurities and his frustration at failing her so many times. I loved the interaction between the characters and how Addison Jane made them seem real adding the plausibility of the storyline. Even the steamy bedroom scenes were realistic in the telling and I could see it all in my head as the story unfolded like a movie in my head. I do wish the dick face dad had gotten more of a beat down like the other ass hat in the story did. Still in all a truly rockin’ book that I will read again.

Quotes
“Listen here shit-for-brains. Those two girls in front of you, they fucking belong to me. Do you know who I am, asshole? I am the mother-fucking president of the mother-fucking Brothers by Blood! Now back your pansy fucking ass away from my damn girls. You get me, limp dick?”—Optimus

“Oh, I’m sorry, I thought we were pretending we had vaginas and this was the sharing circle.” —Optimus

Book Cover Rating

Book Blurb Rating

Purchase Links

Book's Blurb
Harmony makes no excuses for who she is or what she’s done. For the past few years she’s been living as a club girl for the Brothers by Blood MC. The club girls are there for a purpose - to cook, to clean and to keep the men happy. She respects the club, respects the men and she follows the rules. Watching the men walk in and out of her life is strangely comforting, and a feeling she’s grown accustomed to. With a history of disappointments and false promises, all she wants is to have fun, play music and finish college. Being associated with the club, she can do that without having to risk her heart. That was until he showed up.

When Kit's father stepped down as president, he took the title with pride. The Brothers by Blood MC is his family, his home. Deciding to celebrate his new title with his brothers from a neighboring chapter, the last thing he expected was to find Harmony - a club girl with all the makings of a perfect old lady. The stunning blonde is beautiful, strong and fiercely independent. Harmony refuses to lower the walls she’s created around her heart, but the fire inside her and her love for the club fuel his need to have her by his side, and on the back of his bike.

When Harmony’s safety is threatened, Kit is determined to do whatever it takes to protect her and prove that she can trust him. But after a lifetime of broken promises, will it be enough?