Sunday, December 16, 2018

The Trouble With Love by Lauren Layne Is Now $1.99



In THE TROUBLE WITH LOVE, a jaded columnist discovers a steamy way to get over an old flame: falling for him all over again. Start reading NOW for ONLY $1.99! https://laurenlayne.com/books/the-trouble-with-love

AND, don't miss the first TWO titles in Lauren Layne's 21 Wall Street series, think sexy in a suit, which are NOW only $1.99 (ebook) and 50% off in paperback #Amazon http://bit.ly/21WallStreet

Blurb
As Stiletto magazine’s authority on all things breakup-and-heartache, Emma Sinclair writes from personal experience. Five years ago, Emma was Charlotte, North Carolina’s darling debutante and a blushing bride-to-be. Now she’s the ice queen of the Manhattan dating scene. Emma left her sultry Southern drawl behind, but not even her closest friends know that with it she left her heart. Now Emma’s latest article forces her to face her demons—namely, the devilishly sexy guy who ditched her at the altar. 

After giving up everything for a pro-soccer career, Alex Cassidy watches his dreams crumble as a knee injury sidelines him for good. Now he’s hanging up his cleats and giving journalism a shot. It’s just a coincidence that he happens to pick a job in the same field, and the same city, as his former fiancĂ©e . . . right? But when Emma moves in next door, it’s no accident. It’s research. And Alex can’t help wondering what might have been. Unlike the innocent girl he remembers, this Emma is chic, sophisticated, and assertive—and she wants absolutely nothing to do with him. The trouble is, Alex has never wanted her more.

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Pure Textuality PR: The Earl I Ruined by Scarlett Peckham






About the Book


The Earl I Ruined
by Scarlett Peckham
Series
Secrets of Charlotte Street Book Two
Genre
Adult
Historical Romance
Publisher
Independent
Publication Date
December 11, 2018


Purchase Your Copy Today!
Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Kobo  |  iBooks






Blurb

She’s beautiful, rich, and reckless…
When Lady Constance Stonewell accidentally ruins the Earl of Apthorp’s entire future with her gossip column, she does what any honorable young lady must: offer her hand in marriage. Or, at the very least, stage a whirlwind fake engagement to repair his reputation. Never mind that it means spending a month with the dullest man in England. Or the fact that he disapproves of everything she holds dear.

He’s supposedly the most boring politician in the House of Lords…
Julian Haywood, the Earl of Apthorp, is on the cusp of finally proving himself to be the man he’s always wanted to be when his future is destroyed in a single afternoon. When the woman he’s secretly in love with confesses she’s at fault, it isn’t just his life that is shattered: it’s his heart.

They have a month to clear his name and convince society they are madly in love…
But when Constance discovers her faux-intended is decidedly more than meets the eye—not to mention adept at shocking forms of wickedness—she finds herself falling for him.
There’s only one problem: he can’t forgive her for breaking his heart.



Excerpt

In this scene our heroine awaits our hero in a powdering closet, where she plans to be discovered kissing him to convince their families they are in love.

(It does not go well.)

She knew him by his footsteps alone. That precise clipped pace, the moderate thump of a well-kept heel articulated under a (she imagined) slender but finely muscled calf. He never shuffled or stomped. He walked the way he did everything: elegantly.
She reached out from behind the closet door and grabbed him.
Perhaps with too much force, for he came careening toward her in a half stumble and nearly crushed her against the shelves.
“What are you doing?” he gasped, bracing against the shelf above her head to find his balance. The closet was small, just big enough for two adults to stand in. It was lined with wig stands and jars of powder and smelled heavy, like starch and milled soaps. And now, like the woody, balsam scent of whatever Apthorp used to oil his hair.
“Waiting impatiently to be discovered weeping in the wig closet by my future husband,” she said irritably. “Who is four minutes late.”
“May I ask why you are in the wig closet?”
“Because wig closets are just the improbable, tucked-away kinds of places that young lovers go when they wish to steal a moment of privacy to offer each other comfort outside of the prying eyes of their extended families.”
He glanced at her face in the shadows.
“You appear decidedly dry-eyed.”
“Can you please get on with it?”
“Pardon?”
“Hurry. When we’re discovered, you can’t be freshening up your peruke. Kiss me.”
He inched backward into a stack of smocks. “Absolutely not.”
“Must I do everything?”
She latched on to his shoulders so that he could not escape and, before she could lose her nerve, planted her lips on his.
She had not taken the initiative to kiss anyone since that first fumbling attempt on Apthorp all those years ago—and it was harder than it looked to do it properly, without accidentally eating someone’s nose or clacking into his jaw with one’s forehead. She felt like a mole nosing in the dark for a berry on a bush just slightly out of reach. Under her fumbling lips Apthorp went completely rigid. She stood up on her toes, trying to get better purchase.
He yanked his head out of her reach. “My God, what are you doing?”
“Kissing you. My brother will come looking for us at any moment. We must be locked in a passionate embrace.”
He wiped his mouth with the back of his hand, his eyes flashing with some emotion she couldn’t place.
“You know, Constance, you really must learn to ask permission.”
He must really learn to stop lecturing her, but now was not the time to press the issue.
“Please just kiss me.” It was imperative that when Archer found them, they be engaged in something more convincing than a discussion of the etiquette of courtship.
Apthorp stared at her, as if debating something in his mind.
“Constance, may I kiss you?” he asked in an official, courtly tone, like he was modeling correct behavior on which she might be tested later.
“Obviously.”
Gently, he took a hand and tipped her mouth up to his. Gently, he put his lips to hers.
Given what she knew about the secret ways he spent his time, this pretension to gentlemanly delicacy was rather laughable. And they did not have time for it.
She snatched his head in her hands and mashed her face to his, trying to mount a more persuasive display of ardor before anyone witnessed this chaste, practically nonexistent peck.
She felt a rumble beneath her hands.
His shoulders were shaking.
With laughter.
She gasped and pushed him back. His shoulders hit the shelves, causing a wooden wig stand to fall onto a sack of lavender-scented powder, which erupted in a cloud that itched her nose. She immediately fell into a coughing fit so violent that, half-weeping with laughter, he pounded at her back.
“You cow,” she said through gasps. “Because of you, we will both suffocate.”
He stilled, clearly trying to restrain his mirth. “I’m sorry.”
“What is so unbearably humorous?”
“The fact that you are mauling me in the powdering room.”
“I was not mauling you. I was evincing passion.”
His lip quirked up. “In my experience,” he said softly, “that’s not how passion works.”
“No? It works by tiny mincing nibbles at my lower lip?”
“It builds. Lovers have to get to get a feel for one another.”
“Sounds dreadfully dull.”
He stared at her lips for a beat too long, then glanced up into her eyes.
“I assure you, Constance, it isn’t.”
She wanted to be angry at him, but she could not fail to notice that his eyes no longer held the ire they’d borne when he’d looked upon her yesterday. His gaze was earnest. Like he wanted her to understand something that was important to him.
She found herself at a loss for a response. Because for the first time, she was connecting the rumors about this man and his salacious nocturnal predilections to the person whose eyes lingered on her face rather more kindly than she’d have expected of a hell-raking letch, yet with a knowledge in them that made her shiver.
“Haven’t you ever been properly kissed?” he asked softly.
She stuck out her chin, embarrassed to admit that she was far less bold in her private behaviors than the devil-take-it portrait she liked to affect in public. “Of course I have.”
He bit his lip. “Not by anyone who knew how to do it properly, apparently.”

Tour Wide Giveaway

To celebrate the release of THE EARL I RUINED by Scarlett Peckham, we’re giving away a $25 Amazon gift card to one lucky winner!
GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to internationally. One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card. This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Scarlett Peckham.  Giveaway ends 12/24/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Limit one entry per reader. Duplicates will be deleted. CLICK HERE TO ENTER!


About Scarlett Peckham

SCARLETT PECKHAM is a four-time Golden Heart® finalist in Historical Romance who writes steamy stories about alpha heroines. Her Secrets of Charlotte Street series follows the members of Georgian London’s most discreet – and illicit – private club with lush writing, historical detail, a feminist worldview and a light touch of kink.
Scarlett lives in Los Angeles and when not reading or writing romance she enjoys drinking immoderate quantities of white wine, watching The Real Housewives, and dressing her cat in bowtie.
Newsletter  |  Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon



Q And A

What literary pilgrimages have you gone on?

I adore Jane Austen, and when I moved to London in 2013 the very first thing I did was go to Bath. Like, within three days of making an international move I hopped on a train and spent the weekend there! I stayed at a quaint Georgian inn and took long walks in the drizzle and ran my fingers over all the luminous Bath stone buildings and reread Northanger Abbey and it was pure English major bliss.


Does writing energize or exhaust you?

Writing new scenes exhausts me but editing energizes me … so I try to always have one project I’m drafting and another I’m refining so that I don’t burn myself out with having to create “new words.”


Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

All of my books work as standalones, but there is an overarching story to my Charlotte Street series and each book unfolds a bit of that plot and expands upon the world of the subsequent book. The final book will ultimately be Elena Brearley’s story—the heroine is the whipping governess who owns the female-led secret club at the center of the series. So if you read them in order they are full of interesting glimpses of previous characters, and you get to narrow in on different aspects of the world—from a flower nursery and the City of London in The Duke I Tempted, to the more glittering world of the London Beau Monde in The Earl I Ruined. The third book in the series features an employee of the erotic club, so you will begin to see more of the inner-workings of Charlotte Street, which you get a glimpse of in the first book. I’m really excited to write it!


How do you balance making demands on the reader with taking care of the reader?

What I want to do as an author is write books that keep you up all night. It’s that feeling of being unable to put down a romance novel—turning the pages until your fingers are sore—that made me fall in love with the genre. So I like to develop emotionally rich character arcs, take surprising turns and flip conventions and tropes to build lots of suspense, pining and angst…with the assurance the emotional ride will pay off with a gloriously happy ending.


What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

When I first started writing in the Georgian period, I read everything I could get my hands on to develop a strong working understanding of the culture, politics, economics and sexuality of that time period in Great Britain. I’ll devote tremendous amounts of time to researching things relating to characters’ daily lives—for instance the heroine of The Duke I Tempted, my first book, is a botanist and nurserywoman, so I went deep into the explosion of the nursery and gardening trade in the eighteenth century, and read a lot of gardening books from the period as well as biographies of influential gardeners.

Living in London helped immensely for developing a sense of the scenery of the time period. I lived in a Georgian neighborhood for a while, and there are so many fabulous museums you can wander through for inspiration. My favorites are the V&A, the Geffrye Museum (literally a museum of the English home—closed for renovation right now but endlessly fascinating) and Dr. Johnson’s house, which is small but has a great book shop. I’m also a member of the National Trust in the UK, which preserves historically significant sites including tons of gorgeous “stately homes”, and so I’ve spent a lot of time on the weekends exploring manors and castles and gardens and old mills. I recently moved back to the United States and I really miss my long ambling walks in the English countryside!


Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

I adore reading book reviews! The good ones help me see what resonates with my readers and what they want more of. The mixed ones give me a sense of what I can do better. And the bad ones help me figure out who my audience is, because no one book will ever be able to please every reader. I want my books to deliver a great deal of pleasure to the kind of readers who are seeking out the kinds of books I like to write. (Lush, sexy, feminist historicals, with dashes of angst and humor and kink.)


What was your hardest scene to write?

In the Earl I Ruined, there is a particular sex scene that I probably wrote a hundred times. It is more important emotionally than sexually, and so I kept wanting to close the door on the intimate aspects of the scene, but doing so felt incomplete from a character perspective. It took me until the fourteenth draft to finally write the version that is in the finished book. Hint: if you’ve read the book, it’s the one with the “Cyprian costume” ;)


How long on average does it take you to write a book?

I can draft a book in a month or two, but it takes me months and months—in one case years—to edit them. I often have double the word count in deleted scenes than the finished book I end up with!






Sunday, December 9, 2018

Plenty To Come (Plenty, Fl #1) by Lara Valentine



Heat Rating

Published
Jun 2012
Publisher
Siren-BookStrand
Pages 186

Purchase Links

I bought Plenty To Come a few years ago after reading a copy that a friend had. I had originally planned to read the series and that is still very much in my plan but with so many books to read I wonder if I will have time to read every book in my ever-growing library. It is a good thing that most of my library is digital because that many books would not fit in my house.

Stalking is serious crime with long term repercussions for the victims because of that I felt that the author could have done a better job of writing Cassie. Yes, her psycho, dirt bag stalker was in jail but that doesn’t automatically take away the trauma of the incidents that led her to relocate to Plenty. I am sure that Lara Valentine pictured Cassie as a strong woman and with her friend would be able to over come all the bad but the truth is Cassie isn’t super woman and the crimes against her weren’t that far in her past so there probably should have been more signs of residual trauma and maybe a therapist in the picture. I could be wrong because I honestly have never met anyone who had a stalker but it seems to me that it would be very stressful and incredible traumatic with a little long-term PTSD or something in the mix and there were no real signs of that even when the shit for brains stalker got free.

I didn’t notice any edits as I read through Plenty To Come making a smooth read. I am not sure if I will read this story for a third time or even keep this story in my library. If I could I would probably pass it on to a friend to try or trade it in for a new e-book or donate it to the library but since I can’t do any of those things so deleting a book, which seems blasphemous, maybe my only other option. I do intend to read the other books in the series and hope they are worth my efforts.

Quotes
“Don’t baby her, Chase. She needs to help, and then maybe, if she is a very good girl, we will take her back to bed for some hanky-spanky.” —Zach 

“You know, Chase, I think she did tell you to screw yourself like a lightbulb. I don’t like that dirty mouth, either. Perhaps we need to show Her Highness how to behave on a national holiday?”—Zach


Book Cover Rating
The cover of Plenty To Come is absolutely horrible. It not only looks badly photo-shopped but the models, who look more like very young high schoolers, don’t even come close to resembling the older, sexually active, characters in the story.

Book Blurb Rating

Book's Blurb
Giving up on the big city, Cassie moves to the tiny town of Plenty, Florida. Falling in love with Zachary and Chase Harper was easy. They ignite a fire inside her hotter and brighter than the Florida sun.

Intense and dominating Zachary Harper and his brother, charming and playful Chase, are tired of casual relationships and one-night stands. They’re looking for a woman they can share their life with, together. When they meet Cassie, they immediately feel that this woman just might be the one. Cassie is just as drawn to them, feeling safe and loved in their strong arms.

But not everyone is glad about Cassie’s newfound safety and happiness. Can Zachary and Chase keep Cassie safe when her past shows up and wants her dead?


Pure Textuality PR: The Duke That I Marry by Cathy Maxwell








Once upon a time there were three young ladies who, despite their fortunes, had been on the marriage mart a bit too long. They were known as “the Spinster Heiresses” . . .

Is it wrong for a woman to want more?
Not if she is a Spinster Heiress. They do not settle. Any young miss would be very lucky to find herself promised to a man like the Duke of Camberly. However, Miss Willa Reverly has watched her friends marry for love. Camberly may be the prize of the season, but she will not be “sold” to any man. She wants his devotion or she wants nothing at all.

When is a Marriage of Convenience inconvenient?
Newly named to the ducal title, Matthew Addison is determined to discover the secrets behind Mayfield, the bankrupt estate he has inherited. He doesn’t have time to coddle a headstrong heiress who is determined to ditch him over something as silly as “love.” Little does he know that his questions will place her in jeopardy. Now he must do what he must to save them both.

Could it be that in running from danger they might be racing headlong into a truly unexpected fate: falling in love?




About the Book

The Duke That I Marry
by Cathy Maxwell
Series
The Spinster Heiresses Series
Genre
Adult
Historical Romance
Publisher
Avon Books
Publication Date 
November 27, 2018

Purchase Your Copy Today!
Amazon  |  Avon Romance  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Google Play  |  iBooks



Excerpt

Her arms came around his neck. She stood on her toes. He picked her up and carried
her to the bed. His fingers began working her lacings. Her hands slid inside his jacket, pushing it down over his shoulders.

Dear God, he wanted this. He’d had her warmth beside him in bed but it had taken all his willpower to give her the time she needed to heal.

Matt lowered his arms, and his jacket slid to the floor. He pulled Willa down onto the bed beside him. He kissed her chin, her cheek, her nose, and her sweet ears before finding her mouth again. She laughed as if it tickled, and the sound made his heart grow fuller, the beat stronger.

She loved him.

He’d always thought true love was full of drama and turmoil. It wasn’t. Love was the sense that he was right where he was supposed to be. That at last, he’d found his home.


Tour Wide Giveaway

To celebrate the release of THE DUKE THAT I MARRY by Cathy Maxwell, we’re giving away one paperback copy of If ever I Should Love You!
GIVEAWAY TERMS & CONDITIONS:  Open to US shipping addresses only. One winner will receive a paperback copy of If Ever I Should Love You by Cathy Maxwell. This giveaway is administered by Pure Textuality PR on behalf of Avon Romance.  Giveaway ends 10/10/2018 @ 11:59pm EST. Avon Romance will send the winning copies out to the winner directly. Limit one entry per reader and mailing address. Duplicates will be deleted. CLICK HERE TO ENTER!


About Cathy Maxwell

CATHY MAXWELL spends hours in front of her computer pondering the question, “Why do people fall in love?” It remains for her the great mystery of life and the secret to happiness. Fans can contact Cathy at www.cathymaxwell.com; Twitter: @maxwellcathy
Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon